# Meeting commenced 5:10 pm

**Present:** Tas Liveris, Ian Read\*, Kelly Grainger, Kate Bulling\*, Ambrith Abayesekara, Patrick Coleridge\*, Crystal Triggs\*, Beth Wild\*, James Stuchbery, Naomi Loudon, Mary Chalmers, David Morters, Marty Aust (Chair), Russell Goldflam (Chair), Mark Jehne, Chrissy McConnell, Sheetal Balakrishnan, Juliet Hardy\*, Sarah Pringle, Klarin Aust, Travis Jackson, Ray Murphy, Mark Thomas, Robert Welfare, Tamzin Lee, Louise Bennett, Rachel Gleeson, Sarah Gibbs, Catherine Voumard (Minutes)

# (\*-voting by proxy)

**Apologies:** Nicola MacCarron, Felicity Gerry, Colin McDonald, Helen Edney, Lyma Nguyen, Peter Thomas, Jenny Blokland, Lyma Nguyen, Elizabeth Morris,

# **Registered Proxies:**

1. Alistair Wyvill 28. Natalie Elliott 55. Trevor Moses 2. Shawanah Tasneem 29. Kate Bulling 56. Ian Read 3. Fiona Kepert 30. John Philip 57. Greg Betts 4. Elizabeth Morris 31. Tess Kelly 58. Martin Fisher 5. Rennie Anderson 32. David Dalrymple 59. Steven Ledek 6. Felicity Gerry 33. Hannah Donaldson 60. Jenna Dennison 7. Katherine Paterson 34. Franky Bain 61. Shane McGrath 8. Nicola MacCarron 35. Clancy Dane 62. Ruth Brebner 36. Elizabeth Colliver 9. Beth Wild 63. Paul Usher 10. Paul Morgan 37. Jonathon Cooper 64. Hamish Riley 11. Fiona Hardy 38. Jalal Razi 65. Lachlan Cowley 12. Priscilla Collins 39. Elena Scoufis 66. Colin McDonald 13. Leanne Liddle 40. Daniel Thomas 67. Robert Bradshaw 14. Rory Pettit 41. Katherine Shepherd 68. Clem Ng 15. Paul Nijhof 42. Russell Marks 69. Jon Bertoli 43. Sandy Lau 16. Beth Morrisroe 70. Matthew Bonson 17. Patrick Coleridge 44. Nathan Goetz 71. Lokesh Kasshyap 18. Crystal Triggs 45. Courtney Grant 72. Anneke Bossard 19. Giles O'Brien Hartcher 46. Stephen Karpeles 73. Elanor Fenge 20. Rebecca Plummer 47. Bronwen Robertson 74. Isha Caulfield 21. Veronica Finn 48. Long Nam Ha 75. Danielle Cooper 22. David Woodroffe 49. Richard Burton 76. Jenna Charles 23. Greg Phelps 50. Matthew Hubber 77. Simon Lapinski 24. Rex Wild 51. Peter Maley 78. Caroline Heske 25. Lyn Wild 52. Anastasia Koulouriotis 26. Michael Vailas 53. Shane McMaster

# 1. Confirmation of Minutes 28 April 2017 AGM

Moved-M. Aust

Seconded-L. Bennett

27. Renee Kershaw

## Resolved

54. Gerard Maley

# 2. Committee's report presented by Russell Goldflam

- -CLANT will continue to agitate and advocate for its members interests and the community's interests and for accused persons to be guaranteed to get a fair go.
- -CLANT has contributed over 30 submissions over the last 6 years
- -48 members have served on the committee over the last 6 years
- -Titus Ani support team have formally thanked us for our support
- -Still a long way to go, members exposed to toxicity, not a profession with a great record for caring for ourselves
- -Challenge to continue to hold government to account

Moved-L Bennett

Seconded-D. Morters

# Adopted

# 3. Treasurer's report presented by Catherine Voumard on behalf of Nicola MacCarron

Funds from Bali Conference: \$37,278.50

Cheque Account: \$88,719.88

Term Deposit: \$107, 794.68

Most significant expense: \$30,000 to Titus Ani

## Adopted

# 4. Special resolutions

Resolution 1, amendment to clause 8 of the CLANT Constitution

1. That the Constitution be altered by amending the current cl 8(1): as follows:

The Association may alter this Constitution by special resolution under clause 40 39, but not otherwise.

# **Unanimously resolved**

Resolution 2, amendment to clause 33 of the CLANT Constitution

- 2. That the Constitution be altered by amending the current cl 33 by adding the following subclauses
  - (1A) The committee are to be regarded as present together at a meeting when in communication by telephone or other means of audio or audio-visual communication and when each of the committee members participating in the communication is able to read the written contributions and hear each of the other participating members.

- 4. An issue arising outside of a Committee meeting may be decided by written resolution approved by electronic communication and is taken to be a decision of the committee passed at a meeting of the committee members, if:
  - a. The President (or, if the President is unavailable, a Vice-President) considers that an issue is of sufficient urgency and seriousness to justify making a decision outside of a Committee meeting;
  - b. he/she notifies all Committee members by electronic communication of the issue and draft resolution(s);
  - c. he/she allows Committee members reasonable time and not less than 24 hours within which to respond;
  - d. at least four Committee members respond by electronic communication; and e. a majority of responding Committee members (including the person presiding over the vote) vote by electronic communication in favour of a resolution.
- 5. A question arising at a Committee meeting may by resolution of the meeting be decided in the same manner referred to in subclause 33(4)(b), (c), (d) and (e).
- 6. The Secretary shall keep a record of any decision made pursuant to subclause 33(4) or (5).

## Unanimously resolved

# 5. Acknowledgement of outgoing president's service to CLANT

- -Russell Goldflam has been a workhorse
- -Balance articles, media reports, submissions to politicians. An exceptional president, confident new president will be assisted by him.

Moved -D. Morters

## Resolved by acclamation

# 6. 2017/18 Committee

Committee positions declared vacant by Chair

Travis Jackson appointed as Returning Officer

- 6.1. Declaration: Immediate past president: Russell Goldflam
- 6.2. Declaration: Secretary/public officer: Sarah Gibbs (sole nominee)
  - -thanks noted for service in 2017
- 6.3. <u>Declaration</u>: **Treasurer**: Nicola McCarron (sole nominee)
  - -thanks noted for service in 2017

# 6.4. President

Nominations: Tamzin Lee, Marty Aust

Vote conducted

**Declaration**: Marty Aust elected as **President** 

Incoming president assumes chair

### 6.5. Vice Presidents

Nominations: Louise Bennett, Mary Chalmers, Stephen Karpeles, Tamzin Lee, Lyma Nguyen

Vote conducted

<u>Declaration</u>: Tamzin Lee, Stephen Karpeles, Mary Chalmers elected as **Vice-Presidents** 

### 6.6. Committee members

<u>Nominations</u>: Louise Bennett, Dev Bhutani, Anneke Bossard, Mary Chalmers, Juliet Hardy, Naomi Loudon, Colin McDonald, Shane McMaster, David Morters, Ray Murphy, Clem Ng, Lyma Nguyen, Katherine Paterson, James Stuchbery, Shawanah Tasneem, Mark Thomas

Vote conducted

<u>Declaration</u>: Dev Buhtani, Naomi Loudon, Shane McMaster, David Morters, Ray Murphy, Lyma Clement Ng, Nguyen, Katherine Paterson, James Stuchbery, Shawanah Tasneem elected as **Committee members**.

Meeting closed 6:15pm